Connect with us


Bayelsa Guber: Diri clinches six of eight LGs



By Peters Monday, Abuja

The incumbent Bayelsa State governor and governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Senator Douye Diri, is set to be declared winner of the state governorship election.

Following the results announced so far, he had won six. However, the state is comprised of eight local government areas.

Diri, who had earlier won in Kolokuma/ Opokuma, Sagbama, Yenagoa, Ogbia and Ekeremor Local Government areas when the results were announced yesterday, added Southern Ijaw to his list today.

In Southern Ijaw, Diri polled 24,685 votes to defeat Timipre Sylva of APC, who scored 18,174 votes. Labour Party recorded 119 votes.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *