Connect with us


Delta assembly receives 5 commissioner nominees



The governor of Delta State, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa forwarded five additional commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly on Wednesday.

The nominees include Dr Kingsley Ashibogwu, Darlington Ashie, Dr Godfrey Anitan, Hon Nkechi Chukwura and Anthony Ofunne.

The Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori, during Wednesday’s plenary read a letter containing the names of the nominees.

According to Okowa, the appointment of the commissioners was in line with section 192, subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The Governor maintained that the development was geared toward strengthening good governance in the state and also ensuring that every sector of the economy is attended to and ensure that his administration finishes strong.

However, the Speaker had directed the nominees to submit 35 copies of their credentials within Thursday 21 July and also appear for screening on Thursday 21 July 2022.