Connect with us


LG Polls: PDP Kicks Off Campaign in Burutu, presents flags to candidates



By Stephen Asaba-ase

Following the upcoming Delta State local government elections, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has flag-off campaigns in Burutu LGA, as it presents flags to the chairmanship candidate of the party in Burutu LG, Chief Julius Takeme and 20 councilorship candidates of the party.

The campaign flag-off was attended by all top political brass and disciplines of the party at the LGA level and other top leaders of the party in the state.

The party’s candidate for the Burutu LGA and his entourage arrived earlier to commence the flag-off, while the state party’s chairman was awaited.

The campaign was colourful following a powerful cultural display and top music performance by Chief Barrister Smooth, the paddle of Niger Delta and the Niger Delta highlife king.

However, members of the party converged for the campaign rally from various political wards of Burutu LGA and were overwhelmed by the level of preparation of the party ahead of the local government elections slated 13th July, 2024.

The party’s candidate while speaking assured the Burutu electorate of more robust administration, promising far-reaching democratic dividends for the Burutu people when elected.

Those who spoke at the campaign rally were, the LGA party chairman, Mr Ebike Oromoni, Director General of the campaign DG, Hon. Pullah Ekpetuayerin, Principal Secretary to the governor of Delta State, Barr (Mrs) Lyna Aliya Orcholor, Hon. Oloye Peres, member representing Burutu South ,Delta State house of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Solomon Funkekeme, Policy adviser to the governor, Rt. Hon. Julius Pondi, Senator James Manager and the state party chairman, Barr Kingsley Esiso.

The speakers emphasised that Burutu is PDP, PDP is Burutu, urging all electorates to come en masse on July 13 to support the party’s chairmanship and councilorship candidates. “This election is work over, we are familiar with the terrain, there is nothing to worry about -Pondi rechoed to the state party chairman.

The high point of the campaign was the presentation of flags to the party’s chairmanship and councilorship candidates by the state party chairman, Barr Kingsley Esiso.

Some top political brass at the campaign flag-off included; Rt. Hon. Julius Pondi, member representing Burutu federal constituency, Rt. Hon. Funkekeme Solomon, Policy adviser to the governor, Chief Emmanuel Amgbaduba, former commissioner oil and gas, Rt. Hon. Dennis Emomotimi Guwor, Speaker Delta State House of Assembly, Sen. James Manager, Hon. Godknows Angele, commissioner housing, Rt. Hon. Franc Enekorogha, former member representing Burutu federal constituency, Chief Julius Takeme, Burutu LGA chairmanship candidate, Gorgina Evah, vice chairmanship candidate.

Others were Amb. Shedrack Agediga, Chairman Delta State Scholarship and Bursary board, Chief. J.T. Government, chairman board of Delta State marine polytechnic, Burutu, Barr. Lyna Aliya Ocholor, Principal Secretary To The Governor of Delta State, Hon. Kenneth Ogobiri, former Burutu PDP party Chairman, Hon. Peres Oloye, member representing Burutu South in Delta State house of assembly, Hon. Dan Yingi, former member DTHA Burutu North, Hon. Asupa Forteta, former member DTHA, Chief. Yerin Ekpedibo, former Burutu LGA chairman, Hon. Godwin Edumogiren, former party chairman, Hon. (Mrs). Felicia Orounagha, former Burutu LGA chairman, Ebikeme Clark, Adviser to the governor of youths, Hon. Paul Kurugbe former SUBEB second member.

Also present, Hon. Richard Tuedon, former commissioner, Comrade Ozobo Austin, former Special Assistant to the governor, Hon. Koffi Amasuomo, former SSA to the governor, Barr. Oweilaemi Pereotubo, former IYC chairman, Barr. Isa Clark, former appointee, Hon. Hon. Arede Edeinmene Agada, EA to the governor, Hon. Sunny Perekeme, former secretary to the Burutu LGA, Hon. Ebike Oromoni, Burutu PDP party Chairman, Dr. Tam Odogwu, Dr. Jimmy Catar Okolakpa, Comrade Emmanuel Akpule, Director publicity, Ekanpou Enewaridideke, board member, Barr. Francis Bomiebi, former appointee, Hon. Amafini Akemotubo, former appointee, 21 chairmanship aspirants and others.