Connect with us


Delta 2023: Augoye, Edevbie, Gbagi, others make list as DC-23 screening c’tte submits report



•DC-23 Directs Committee To Prune List To Three

By Timi Black

The DC-23 Screening Committee of Delta central governorship Aspirants Committee has submitted its report with Senator Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, Chief James Augoye, Chief David Edevbie, Chief Kenneth Gbagi and Rt. Hon. Chief Sheriff Oborevwori making the list.

Congress recalled that the committee was inaugurated on 25th October, 2021 with Prof. Nyerhovwo Tonukari as Chairman, Prof. Sunny Awhefeada, Secretary while Chief Arthur Akpowowo, Chief Dr. (Mrs.) Augustina Erah, Hon. Felix Anirah, Mr. Tony Omonemu, Revd. Fr. Christopher Ekabor, Chief Anthony Akpomiemie, Chief Andy Osawota, Deacon Raymond Edijala, Dr. Godfrey Enita, Deaconess Florence Jakpovi and Mrs. Rarute Mgbeke as members.

The committee was given terms of references to identify all aspirants from Delta Central Senatorial District; look at the PDP guideline and the Nigerian Constitution for qualification of the person for the office of the Governor of the state; interact with such aspirant(s) and carefully examine each of them if he has what it takes to be Governor of a state; draw/set/develop their own strategy/modus operandi in carrying out the committee’s work; take evidence directly or indirectly for the purpose of evaluating their medical fitness, financial capability, suitability, capability, acceptability; make other recommendations based on evidence gathered from all over the state and country and amongst others.

The committee in a report signed by the 13 members and read by the Secretary, Prof. Sunny Awhefeada, said 12 aspirants names which included Chief James Augoye, Chief David Edevbie, Chief Kenneth Gbagi, Chief Fred Majemite, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, Hon. Ejaife Odebala, Hon. Efe Ofobruku, Chief Kenneth Okpara, Chief Bright Edejeghwro, Chief Ovie Agas, Chief Abel Esievo and Chief Sunday Solomon Oruarefe were presented to them.

The committee noted that after series of meetings and screening exercise within the given time, they recommended the following persons on alphabetical order of their surnames for the next round of screening; Senator Chief Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, Chief James Augoye, Chief David Edevbie, Chief Kenneth Gbagi and Rt. Hon. Chief Sheriff Oborevwori.

The committee pointed out that they carried out the assignment in the best interest of Delta Central Senatorial District and the state in general.

In his response, National Chairman of DC-23, Chief Senator Ighoyota Amori conmended the committee to have painstakingly carried out the assignment given them.

He urged them to further prune the number to three as encapsulated in the committee terms of reference. “Therefore, the committee is hereby further directed to reduce the number to three and has up to January ending 2022 to submit its final report.

“The committee having had several meetings, discussions, interactions and evaluated the curriculum vitae, mission statement and profile of the aspirants that appeared before them, can now resort to public perception and rating in their acceptability across the state, accessibility, integrity, capability, credibility and pan Delta disposition.

“I hereby plead with those who didn’t make the list of five and later three to accept the committee’s report and recommendation in good faith, as only one perron can be Governor at a time. The twelve aspirants were all heroes and winners”, he added.

Those who attended the meeting include Chief Senator Ighoyota Amori, National Chairman, Hon. Solomon Ighrakpata, Deputy National Chairman, Chief Suru Salami, 2nd Vice Chairman, Mr. William Etubiebi, Chairman BoT, Olorogun Bernard Edewor, Deputy Chairman BoT, Dr. Chris Oharisi, National Secretary, Olorogun Arthur Akpowowo, National Publicity Secretary, OlorogunTalent Tebite, National Financial Secretary, Hon. Godwin Atose, National Organising Secretary, Rt. Hon. Sunday Apah, Assistant National Publicity Secretary, Chief Emmanuel Ighomena, Secretary BoT.

Chief Christian Onogba, Assistant National Organizing Secretary, Engr. Matthew Tsekiri, Assistant National Secretary, Hon. Festus Pemu, Assistant National Publicity Secretary, Mr. Austin Opubor, National Welfare Officer, Abraham Whisky, National Provost, Dr. Amos Ighoroje, Hon. Elohor Urhobe, Chief Anthony Akpomiemie, National Auditor and Chief George Osikorobia, Assistant National Auditor and Chief Andy Osawota.