Connect with us


Egbema: Ogbudugbudu Ruling House to Produce Next King -Council of Chiefs



By Timi Black & Anita Godfrey

The Traditional Council of Egbema kingdom has told the Ogbudugbudu Ruling House to nominate the next king designate of the kingdom following the demise of the previous king, the Agadagba, HRM G.O.E. Tiemo (JP) Bini Pere III of Egbema kingdom.

(Egbema kingdom gazette)

The meeting which was held in Ofunama, the oldest community of the kingdom on Saturday, July 9, 2022, was to officially inform the next Ruling House to nominate a person to occupy the vacant traditional tool.

Congress gathered the meeting which was convened at the instance of the Ama-okosuwei Chief Abudu Eyetuoyo of Ofunama community, being the oldest village of the kingdom was attended by prominent traditional chiefs of Egbema kingdom including High chief David Bubor, the Tori-puwei of Egbema Kingdom, High chief Owilli (JP), the Fun-puwei of Egbema, Chief Simeon Igbedikuru, the Perekoriwei of Egbema and a host of other Chiefs in the kingdom.

The Ama-okosuwei of the Ofunama community, Chief Eyetuoyo who made the official declaration on behalf of the kingdom, said the move was to give effect to the customs and traditions of the kingdom as contained in the 1979 gazette of defunct Bendel State.

According to the Ama-okosuwei, the principle of rotation suggests clearly that Ogbudugbudu Ruling House is the next to occupy the kingship stool following the demise of the last occupant who was from Opuama/Polobubor Ruling House.

He further added that strict compliance with the requirements of the gazette was key to ensuring a peaceful transition.

However, the pronouncement was unanimously adopted by all members of the traditional council that were present at the meeting on Saturday.

Meantime, Chief W.B. Igbiriki (JP), in his remarks said he had been appointed a member of the regency council twice and that the regency council that was constituted had elapsed since June 16, 2022

He reiterated, “Therefore, the kingdom is now ripe to install a new king. The traditional chiefs of the kingdom and the Amaokosuwei are well empowered by tradition to drive the process.”

Also, the Toripuwei of the kingdom Chief David Bubor who is the chairman of the traditional council of chiefs, said at the meeting that all meetings concerning the kingship should be held in Egbema henceforth and not outside the kingdom.

The Toripuwei equally reminded the audience that the two years period of interregnum as demanded by the kingdom’s tradition was over, adding that the selection process had begun.

Speaking at the meeting, Ogbudugbudu Ruling House thanked the kingdom, assuring that the traditions of the kingdom would be complied with in nominating a suitable candidate for the kingship stool.

Recall, sometime in 2020, the Agadagba of Egbema, HRM G.O.E. Tiemo (JP) Bini Pere III of the Obama/Polobubor ruling house transited to join his ancestors. As customs demanded, the kingdom went through a two-year period of interregnum which had now ended with the commencement of the selection process.

The traditions of the kingdom as gazetted in 1979, stated that the order in which accession to the traditional stool shall be in the following order to wit: Abadigbene/Jamie, Ajakurama, Opuama/Polobubor, Ogbudugbudu.

Among members of the Egbema traditional council who converged on Saturday is High chief David Bubor, the Tori-puwei of Egbema kingdom, High chief Owilli (JP) the Fun-puwei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Simeon Igbedikuru, the Pere-kiwi of Egbema kingdom, Chief Abudu Eyetuoyo, the Amakosu-owei of Ofunama community, Chief W B. Igbiriki (JP) member regency council, Egbema kingdom, Chief Hon. Lucky Tiemo, the Ebi-aye kobowei of the Egbema kingdom.

Others were Chief Newton Tiemo, the Miyen- karamowei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Hon. Agagha D.K (JP), the Miyen-kirimowei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Festus Odeon, the Benkorowei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Tuesday Badi, the Dakiripagha of Egbema kingdom, Chief Israel Agadigha, the Tinwei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Joseph Fedisegha, the Bana-owei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Postmaster Ekpe, the Pere-Biri diwei of Egbema kingdom, and

Chief R A. Ugborugbo, the Fiyekonwei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Gaius Uroupa, the Ibetari Boloi-Wei of Egbema kingdom, Chief Pilot Ekpe, the Tun-terewei of Egbema kingdom,

Chief Emmanuel Akpabana, Chief Emmanuel Agbe, Mr Amabolo Karaki, Chairman Ofunama community, Chief Mrs Threepence Soko
and others.