Connect with us


IYC Western Zone Polls: ZECO Declares Igarama As Chairman After Free, Fair Election 





By Stephen Asaba-ase & Miracle Esegha


The Ijaw Youth(IYC) Western Zone electoral committee led by Comrade Emmanuel Gesikeme Akpule has declared Nicolas Igarama winner of the chairmanship position of the zone after free, fair and credible election held at Odimodi community, Burutu LGA Delta State on the 5th June, 2024.


Our correspondents who were covering the electoral process said the election commenced on the 5th June 2024, by introduction of a stakeholder in the IYC struggle, Mr Ogbakiri who was one of the founding fathers. They proceeded to give a brief highlight of the foremost IYC leaders that had spear headed the Council movement in the Niger Delta, including Oronto Douglass, Pere Camfo, Mujahid Dokubo Asari and Dr. Alaye Tari who bequeathed to subsequent executives.


Meantime, the Candidates who were verified by the Zonal Electoral committee (ZECO) were asked to give their manifestos from Students Representatives to the Chairmanship position, followed by accreditation of delegates and agents before the actual voting process was carried out.


However, leaders of council who were on ground to monitor and observed the electoral process are; Comrade Jonathan Lokpobiri, IYC president worldwide, Comrade, Princewill Binebai, IYC National spokesman , Comrade Ebilade Ekerefe, former IYC Spokesman, Comrade Peres Ineife, Chairman Central Zone, Afani Amatoru, National treasurer, Bob Collins, Speaker Mobile Parliamentarian, Barr. Ebilade Obiri, former National Legal Adviser, Amb. Egbor Emomotimi Bob-joe, former CLECO Chairman, Victor-Gow Ayebatari , National financial secretary Ijaw IYC worldwide.


Meanwhile, the collation and declaration of results were done by the ZECO Chairman and his committee, Comrade Emmanuel Gesikeme Agbule.


Consequently, Candidates that emerged as winners in the election process are; Comrade Igarama Nicholas Tamaradenyefa, Chairman, Comrade Ezonfade Otuskelly, Vice Chairman, Barr. Ebi Joshua Olowolayemo, Secretary, Comrade Magbei Tare Philip, information Officer, Sobo Lovis Shagari, Mobilization Officer,

Aseyaiseimor, Students Representative, Uyadongha Samuel Ebiarede, Assistant Secretary, Pukon Ebielamene Nerrissa, Woman Leader, Areweremi Jeff Ekeremoni, treasurer, Jolowo Erigbamini Bunmi, Financial Secretary.


In a final note, the Chairman of ZECO said “I Comrade Emmanuel Gesikeme Akpule Chairman of Zonal Electoral committee hereby certify that the election conducted by the executive Council was free and fair, and l hereby declare the above contestants winner after scoring the highest numbers of votes and fulfilling all other requirements”.


However, the issuance of certification of return was handled by the IYC president Comrade, Jonathan Lokpobiri.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *