Connect with us


Oborewori one-year in office: Delta Assembly staff express disappointment, embark on indefinite strike




By Stephen Asaba-ase

In a show of defiance, the staff of the Delta State Legislature, under the umbrella of the Parliamentary Staff Association of Nigeria (PASAN), have embarked on an indefinite strike, protesting the governor’s alleged failure to fulfill key campaign promises. As Governor Oborevwori marks his one-year anniversary in office with fanfare, the legislative staff are conspicuously absent, highlighting their discontent by resuming their previously suspended strike on this significant day.

The staff had suspended their earlier strike in February 2024, following the intervention of the Conference of Speakers and the Nigerian Governors’ Forum, to allow for the implementation of financial autonomy, payment of the Staff Consolidated Legislative Salary Structure (CONLESS), and the establishment of the House of Assembly Service Commission in states that have not passed the law. However, two months have elapsed without substantial progress, prompting the staff to resume their strike.

In a communiqué addressed to the Speaker of the House of Assembly, Emomotimi Guwor, and signed by the State Chairman of PASAN, Comrade Emmanuel Edozie, and Secretary, Comrade Emmanuel Osubor, the staff expressed their frustration and disappointment. They condemned the delay tactics employed by the government, which they believe are aimed at depriving them of their entitlements.

The communiqué also highlighted other unresolved issues, including training, funding of the DTHA clinic, and regularization of casual staff. With their patience worn thin, the staff resolved to resume their suspended industrial action effective May 29, 2024, indefinitely, until their demands were met.

A visit to the State Assembly complex revealed that the gates were locked as early as 5 am on Wednesday morning, underscoring the staff’s determination to press home their demands. Efforts to reach the Chief Press Secretary to the Speaker, Nkem Nwaeke, for comments were unsuccessful at the time of filing this report.