Connect with us


2023: Don’t carry campaign to our secretariat -Delta monarchs warn politicians



By Timi Black

The traditional rulers’ Council of Delta State has asked politicians in the state not to visit its State Secretariat in Asaba for political campaigns/consultations ahead of the 2023 elections.

The monarchs made this known in a communique, through its state Chairman HRM, Obi Emmanuel Efeizomor II, Obi of Owa, read the communique and was flanked by the First Vice Chairman, HRM, Major – Gen Felix Mujakperuo (rtd), Orodjie of Okpe, and the Second Vice-Chairman, HM, Pere Stanley Perediegha Luke, Kalanama VIII, Pere of Akugbene – Mein at the end of the monthly meeting of the Traditional Rulers which was held in Asaba, the State capital

The state traditional council in a Communique, “advised politicians who wish to visit traditional rulers at the State Council Secretariat to consider carrying out such visitations to the traditional rulers at their zonal level for onwards carriage of their messages to other grassroot traditional rulers.

“We also use the occasion to call on all road users to be mindful of the ’ember’ season and tread with caution for safety reasons.

“We urge all Deltans to embrace peace in all endeavours and support government’s efforts towards sustained security in the state”.

The traditional council also congratulated Governor Okowa who was honoured as the best performing Governor of the year in infrastructural development in Nigeria by the Nigeria Institute of Civil Engineers, NICE on the 14th October 2021in Asaba”.

The traditional rulers who passed a vote of confidence on the administration of governor Ifeanyi Okowa, pledged their continued support and loyalty to the government of his administration.

The monarchs as well mourned the passage of former Military Administrator of the State, Air Commodore Ibrahim Kefas (retd), who passed on on October 1st, 2021 and wished his family the fortitude to bear the irreparable loss.

Among those who attended the meeting were traditional rulers from the three senatorial districts in the state.